Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Sibanda Shines On Awards Night, Pockets P97,000

October 9, 2017 2:00 PM
36 0

Sibanda walked away with the junior male sportsperson of the year award and the biggest award of the night, sportsperson of the year award.

Sibanda won the junior male sportsperson of the year for the second time in a row. The award carries P17,200 cash. The big award of the night, the sportsperson of the year, carries a hefty cash prize of P80,000. Sibanda was part of the men’s 4x400m relay men’s team that sprinted away with the team of the year gong. His teammates are Baboloki Thebe, Onkabetse Nkobolo and Nijel Amos.

Athletics continued dominating the night, scooping another award when Mogomotsi Otsetswe was adjudged the coach of the year beating Thebe Setlalekgosi of boxing.

The female junior sportsperson of the year award went to Tshegofatso Tsiane of tennis. She pocketed P17,200. Former president of Botswana Chess Federation (BCF), Tshenolo Maruatona popped the champagne for chess as he snatched the administrator of the year award. Onkemetse Francis took home the woman sportsperson of the year award and went home P40,000 richer. Chess was recognised as the code of the year for their 2016 exploits. Francis beat other stars, Christine Botlogetswe of athletics and sensei Thato Malunga of karate. Keatlaretse Mabote of Paralympics Sport Association of Botswana (PASSOBO)

had an early Christmas gift when he snatched the male person with disability award, with the female award going to Nonofo Zigwa.

Sensei Ofentse Shakes Bakwadi made sure that karate did not go home empty handed when he floored Amos and Thuso Mosutha ‘with a jordan tsuki punch’ and went away with male sportsperson of the year award. Referee of the year award went to Joshua ‘The Sprinter’ Bondo, while BOTESSA was recognised as the group code of the year.

Solly Reikeletseng gave an emotional speech when awarding the chairman’s award to Vincent Crosbie. He patted Crosbie on the back for the hard work he put in when competing at the Dakar Rally.

Minister of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development, Thapelo Olopeng said since April this year, local athletes have won 97 medals from international competitions.

“This is commendable and demonstrates our competitiveness on the international stage. This performance has been rewarded through the allowances and incentives programme. Our athletes received incentives amounting to P3.5 million,” he said.

Print journalist of the year: Calistus Kolantsho (Mmegi), print media house of the year (Mmegi), Martin Fani (electronic journalist of the year), Gothusaone Lesego (photographer of the year) and radio of the year award went to Duma FM.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0