Google Translate Hits 80 Languages Milestone, Adds 9 New Ones

December 10, 2013 10:33 PM

35 0

Google Translate Hits 80 Languages Milestone, Adds 9 New Ones

Google Translate has hit the 80 languages milestone, as Google announced the addition of support for nine more languages.

“Whether you’re trekking to a new place or simply trying to communicate with someone who doesn’t share a language with you, Google Translate can help you connect to new information and people,” says software engineer Arne Mauser. “Today, we’re launching 9 new languages that span Africa, Asia, and Oceania and have over 200 million native speakers, collectively.”

These languages would be: Hausa (Harshen Hausa), Igbo (Asụsụ Igbo), Yoruba (èdè Yorùbá), Somali (Af-Soomaali), Zulu (isiZulu), Mongolian (Монгол хэл), Nepali (नेपाली), Punjabi language (ਪੰਜਾਬੀ) (Gurmukhi script) and Maori (Te Reo Māori).

The first three are major languages of Nigeria. Somali is spoken in Somalia as well as other countries around the Horn of Africa, and has 17 million native speakers. Zulu is spoken in South Africa as well as other south-western African countries with 10 million native speakers.

In Asia, Mongolian is spoken in Mongolia in addition to parts of China, and has 6 million native speakers. Nepali is poken in Nepal as well as India, and has 17 million native speakers. Punjabi is spoken in India and Pakistan, and has 100 million native speakers.

Maori is spoken in New Zealand with 160 thousand speakers. Support for this language was made possible by a volunteer effort.

Earlier this year, Google added Bosnian, Cebuano, Hmong, Javanese and Marathi. You can see all supported languages here.


To category page