Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Kgaboetsile Wins Big At BNSC Awards Ceremony

September 17, 2018 2:00 PM
182 0

Kgaboetsile scooped the award and took home the trophy and a whooping P100, 000 beating the likes of Isaac Makwala of athletics and Ofentse Bakwadi of Karate to the ultimate prize. Both Makwala and Bakwadi were tipped to go head to head for the award after their successful year.

Makwala, 31 who won the sportsman of the year on the night had an eventful year, which includes running solo at the London Stadium during the World Championships in 2017 to qualify for the semis after being forced to miss out on the qualifiers due to illness.

He also won the diamond league trophy and clinched his first gold medal at the Commonwealth Games gold. He then helped the 4X400 senior men relay team to a gold medal at the Commonwealth games.

Although he recently lost his African champion title, Bakwadi won silver at the UFAK African in Kigali.

The men senior relay team comprising of Baboloki Thebe, Isaac Makwala, Nigel Amos, Leaname Maotoanong, Karabo Sibanda and Onkabetse Nkobolo was named the national team of the year following their gold medal triumph during the Commonwealth games. The team won the award ahead of the under 21-netball team and the men’s softball team.

Shameinah Tumelo won the sportswoman with disability award. Oarabile Tshosa scooped the junior female sportsperson of the year award. Bernard Olesitse won the junior male sportsperson of the year award, while Mothokomedi Thabano picked the sport administrator of the year award.

In the media awards, Mmegi newspaper was chosen as the print media house of the year, making three years in a row. Isaac Pheko of the Midweek Sun newspaper was handed the best print journalist of the year while Yarona FM were named the electronic media organisation of the year. Godfrey Mpuse of BOPA won the photographer of the year.

BNSC chairperson, Solly Reikeletseng awarded the chairman’s awards to Kenneth Kgari and dedicated the other award to all teachers in the country for their role in sports development.

Officiating, the Minister of Youth Empowerment, Sports and Culture Development, Thapelo Olopeng thanked President Mokgweetsi Masisi for being a great supporter of sports in the country. He said that Masisi has urged them to host more international competitions.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0